Uncategorized

Better savour that bacon!

The headline upset me more than it should have. Worldwide bacon shortage ‘unavoidable’

My first thought: A world without bacon? Unthinkable!

I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. A quick Google search reveals a widespread fondness for this particular cured meat, ranging from the bacon love frenzy on bacontoday.com, to interesting tidbits on bacon history such as this entry on the Food Timeline, to this fun generator of bacon-related lorem ipsum.

I don’t know if this unfortunate turn of events will cause me to start stockpiling the stuff. What I do know is that I will definitely savour every bite of bacon I have from now on. Because we can’t really hoard anything that gives us joy in this life—the best thing we can do is relish the good moments as they come.

FLATBREAD WITH POTATOES AND BACON

So ridiculously easy, there’s really no need for a recipe. Just brush some olive oil and crushed garlic onto ready-to-bake flatbread. Boil up a few potatoes for about 10 minutes until just tender, then slice very thin and lay the pieces slightly overlapping in a single layer on the flatbread. Sprinkle with chopped rosemary, bacon bits, and crumbled goat cheese. Bake the flatbread according to package directions. Enjoy on one of these cool, crisp autumn days!

Leave a Reply

